March 2021 Wrap-Up!

Hi everyone! Does anyone else feel like time is speeding up, or is it just me? The weeks seem to be flying by! Anyway, I’m slightly later than usual with my wrapup post because it’s been a busy week with work and then my second covid vaccine knocked me a bit! But I’m here now to share what I read in March with all of you 🙂


Review Books

The Prank by L. V. Matthews

I received an ARC of The Prank from Welbeck Publishing and I was surprised how much I enjoyed this contemporary revenge story! It was a bit of a slow-burner at first but by the end, I was racing through the pages and couldn’t put it down.

The Outlaws Scarlett & Browne by Jonathan Stroud

This one was sent to me by Walker Books and it was exactly the adventure I was in the mood for! Scarlett and Browne have completely endeared themselves to me and I can’t wait to see where the story takes them next.


Books from my TBR

The House at the Edge of Magic by Amy Sparkes

This was one of my choices for Middle Grade March and while it was a fun and whimsical story, it didn’t blow me away. It felt a bit silly in comparison to a lot of other middle grade books I’ve read – but I’m sure the target audience would probably enjoy it more.

A Court of Frost & Starlight by Sarah J. Maas

I had no intention of continuing with this series beyond the end of the original trilogy. However, my friend has other ideas for me and is mildly forcing me to continue! Haha. She lent me her copy of this one so that I could catch up before A Court of Silver Flames, and I couldn’t help but enjoy it. Let’s face it, these books are trash – but there’s something very entertaining about them!

Hurricane Season by Nicole Melleby

This was another of my choices for Middle Grade March and I absolutely adored it. This felt like such a special book, with its exploration of mental health and the healing powers of art and music, as well as the importance of family. I loved every page.

The Martian by Andy Weir

The same friend who forced me to read A Court of Frost and Starlight was also singing the praises of The Martian and we decided to buddy read it together. I loved this book so much, considering I’m not really a sci-fi fan?! The humour was absolutely top notch and Will Wheaton did a fabulous job narrating the audiobook.

A Girl Made of Air by Nydia Hetherington

I received this one as a birthday gift back in February and I was so excited to read it. It ended up being very different to what I expected but I tried to judge it for what it was and not be disappointed that it didn’t meet my expectations. I did enjoy it but I think it was very ambitious and, ultimately, the author may have tried to do just a little too much in the one book. It had a bit of a disjointed feel. I’ll be reviewing this one in full once I’ve got my thoughts together.

Concrete Rose by Angie Thomas

I really enjoyed this prequel to The Hate U Give. It was great to find out more about Maverick and see him taking responsibility. I read most of this one in a single sitting, which just shows how enthralling it was!

The Guest List by Lucy Foley

This one was a recommendation from my aunt and I decided to listen to the audiobook. I definitely enjoyed the story more than my last experience with Lucy Foley’s writing (Last Letter From Istanbul). I liked the structure of the novel but did find that there was a lot of build-up to a very abrupt ending. The narrators of the audiobook did a great job though and really added to the reading experience.

The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night by Jen Campbell

As with most short story collections, this was a mixed bag. Overall, I enjoyed the stories and liked the dark fairytale vibes, but some didn’t necessarily land for me.

Bridge of Souls by Victoria Schwab

This series finale was one of my anticipated releases for March. I wasn’t actually sure if I would get round to it last month but I managed to squeeze it in towards the end. I had a few issues with it (as I have with the whole trilogy, to be honest) but it was an enjoyable read overall and I loved the New Orleans setting.

Einstein’s Dreams by Alan Lightman

This was a short but impactful read. I thought all the different concepts of time were very clever and a lot of the writing was quite beautiful. I do, however, wish it had been fleshed out just a little bit more.


Rereads

Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

With the arrival of Spring, I was in the mood for something nice and fluffy, so I decided to reread this contemporary novel that I first read a few years ago. I was worried that my reading tastes would have changed too much and that I wouldn’t enjoy this the second time around, but I was happy to find it just as sweet and entertaining as before. Plus, it was nice to be able to escape lockdown in my imagination and pretend I was road-tripping across America with Amy and Roger!


Stats

Total pages: 4009

Average pages per day: 129.3

Longest book: The Outlaws Scarlett & Browne (394 pages)

Shortest book: Einstein’s Dreams (140 pages)

Favourite read of the month (not including rereads): Hurricane Season

Male authors: 3

Female authors: 10

Multiple authors: 0


Have you read any of the books in this stack? How many books did you get through in March? Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “March 2021 Wrap-Up!

  1. Wow, sounds like March was a great reading month for you! And no, it’s not just you. March flew by. I’m not sure how we’re possibly a quarter of the way through the year already, but there it is.

    I really want to continue the Cassidy Blake series, so far I’ve only read the first one but I did like it.

    Like

Leave a comment